Adrian Padina
Nov 27, 2021

--

Well, I see that Athens hasn't changed since the late 80's when I was there as part of my inter-rail trip all over Europe. And I mean ALL Europe. It was the shitiest place we encountered, from London to Istanbul and on to Spain. The arrogance of the Athenians was demostrated when we went to the Acropolis only to find it shut for lunch, and being a weekend, it would not open any more that day! UNESCO World Heritage Site, closed because the workers are more important than the tourists and travellers who had ventured to enter one of ancient civilizations most symbolic sites. Dirty, smelly, extremely noisy, rude locals...shame it hasn't got any better from what I can see.

--

--

Adrian Padina

Master hotelier who writes and photographs. Take a peek inside my world.