How To Receive The Best Service Possible

Adrian Padina
3 min readFeb 24, 2020

A simple ‘hack’ to getting good service

As a hotelier for 30 years, I know a thing or two about service, be it good or bad. You see, service is a two-way ‘thing’.

I’ve seen it time and time again. Paying for good service is not enough, in a way you need to earn it. Yes, you heard that right.

Let’s start by defining good service, which I believe is getting more than what you expect, more than what you pay for. If I go to a 3* hotel, I expect 3* service; yet when I receive 5* service at the same hoteI I am happy, my expectations have been surpassed.

More difficult is exceeding a 5* service when I go to a 5* hotel, yet this is entirely possible. The best hotel companies believe in empowerment, a very powerful word that allows employees to go the extra mile to satisfy each and every guest…or at least in reality, each and every guest that deserves it!

We’ve all seen it, the demanding guest who likes to shout and demand service, which he normally achieves. And then there’s the lovely couple who chat with the staff, are not demanding, yet the staff bend over backwards for them. These are the clever guests.

A while back whilst travelling long-haul and waiting to check in, I heard the person in front of me giving a hard time to the…

--

--

Adrian Padina

Master hotelier who writes and photographs. Take a peek inside my world.